I am surrounded
By the arms of the Father
I am surrounded
By songs of deliverance

We’ve been liberated
From our bondage
We’re the sons and the daughters
Let us sing our freedom

-Bethel Music-

Slavery. It seems like a long-ago concept only found in history books and documentaries. We live in a ‘freer’ and more ‘equal’ world where intolerance is frowned upon.

But to be honest, many people still live as slaves. From the richest CEOs to the cleaners, something still holds people captive.

Fear.

It commands minds. It kills dreams. It takes lives.

The week before final exams. Everyone around me was diligently studying. Studying so hard until they lost sleep. Studying until they became sick. Studying until the stress gave them headaches. There was tension and competition, but most of all, there was fear. Fear that they would fail. Fear that they would not meet university requirements. Fear that they would disappoint their parents.

I had not even started studying. I was too busy juggling responsibilities, especially since the student council at school had only just been formed. I panicked and worried. I didn’t know where to start. And these exams contributed to my predicted grades. Bad grades meant bye bye Dream University.

After a long day at school, I went to church… with a splitting headache. All I wanted to do was sleep. But my cell was hosting so I went. Before the service began, the hosts gathered together for a time of prayer. And we began to sing ‘I’m no longer a slave to fear… I am a child of God.’ There is great power in declaring God’s Word over ourselves (Galatians 4:7). As I continued singing that line, I felt the chains that had been constricting my heart and mind break and fall away. A wonderful peace filled me. I surrendered my exams and grades to the Lord, and trusted that He would see me through like He always did. I desperately let go of fear and let love and assurance overflow in me.

But that’s not all. At the end of the service, the service director called out words of knowledge that had been revealed. These were words that described a sickness or trial someone could be suffering, or just something that someone needed prayer for. One of the first words was ‘Headache’. And at that moment I realised that Jesus had healed me of my headache during the service. God is good! I was so thankful and amazed.

So dear reader, are you a slave to fear? Does fear drive you to do what you do? Well, let me tell you: fear is a destroyer, but Jesus is the Conqueror. Let go and let Jesus set you free. You are no longer a slave to fear. You are a Child of God.

I’m no longer a slave to fear
I am a child of God

-Bethel Music-

Leave a Reply

