I put my heart into your hands
Here’s my soul to keep
I let you in with all that I can
You’re not hard to reach
And you bless me with the best gift
That I’ve ever known
You give me purpose
Yeah, you’ve given me purpose

-Justin Bieber-

So many teenagers and young people I know keep telling me that they feel so lost and so ‘blur’. It’s not that they’re lazy. In fact, some of them are top students and extremely hardworking people. But no matter how hard they search, they can’t seem to find the reason for their existence.

And it’s a common problem. So many youths out there are questioning their existence and searching high and low to find something they don’t even know.

Because everyone wants to play a part. Everyone wants to be useful. Everyone wants to say ‘I have a purpose for living.’

For me, it all boils down to identity. How do you define yourself? Is it by the way you live? The figure in your bank account? Or maybe it’s by the friends you hang out with. Or even the talent you have.

I used to heavily define myself by my grades. Although my parents expected me to have a good academic record, it was I who pushed myself to achieve top marks and be that 1% population. Inwardly, I preened when people called me genius or looked to me as the source of knowledge in school. When I was younger, I even made a table that recorded all the top students’ final exam grades – just so I could see who would win the end of year academic awards.

I guess in other words, I was an arrogant nerd.

But when you’re at the top, the only other way you can go is down.

There were times when I didn’t achieve the marks I wanted. To me, B = Fail and A* = Good. So when I wasn’t peforming up to my own expectations, I would be so torn. I felt stupid, and others would also wonder in surprise at my less than perfect results. I would be so upset and moody and emotional. It was terrible for me and worse for the people around me.

A few years after that, I moved on to a ‘new’ way of defining myself: friends. I found my pride in being part of the cool clique. I felt accepted. I felt like I belonged. But it also didn’t feel right. And not long after, I found I was right. I eventually fell away from the group because I couldn’t go for their hang outs and trips.

Little had I known that it is so dangerous to place your worth in standards defined by the world.

But then I found it. My identity. My TRUE identity.

Child of God. Daughter of the King of Kings. Best friend of Jesus.

There is nothing more beautiful than knowing who you are. Having an identity that would never fade or fail was something that I had always pursued. And I finally found it in God, in Jesus. Because I realised that when I identified myself with Jesus – and I don’t mean religion, I mean relationship – I became secure and full of joy.

And with this identity in Jesus Christ, I began searching for my specific purpose. And I believe that God is slowly revealing it to me. He has given me a heart for a certain group of people, but how or when I am supposed to help them, I am not sure yet. Finally, I feel complete. Now, I have direction.

Dear reader, are you searching? Are you asking yourself what’s your purpose? Look to Jesus. Ask Him to work in your life and reveal the purpose that He has already set out for you. Find meaning in a life filled with the love of Christ.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

Leave a Reply

