Everyday
With every worthless word we get more far away
The distance between us makes it so hard to stay
But nothing lasts forever, but be honest babe
It hurts but it may be the only way

-Maroon 5-

Change. It’s bound to happen.

But I guess when we’re in a ‘good’ season in life, we become really naive about change. We cling on to the dreams that life will be one straight road of never-ending happiness. We fight to protect ourselves from dangers that will burst our little bubbles of joy.

But change can be good.

Looking back at my 16 year-old-self, I sometimes want to cringe at my childishness in trying to control my life and my friendships. The high-school friends that I used to talk to one year ago? All we do now is like each other’s Instagram posts. The college friends that I had in the beginning of the school year? I imagined us to be the ULTIMATE girl squad, but in the end, our group kind of broke of as we found other friendship circles. And the guy whom I thought would be my best friend forever? Yeah, well, you an read my previous posts to find out what happened.

But it doesn’t mean that those relationships were pointless. I truly believe that God lets us meet different people at different times for different reasons. I have friends whom were just one-year close friends, and friends whom I have been in touch with for many years now. I am really appreciative for both types of friends because I’ve had diverse life expereinces with them.

Change can be scary.

In the moments of change, I sometimes cried out to God and wondered: ‘Why are you ruining my perfect friendship? Why can’t we stay forever close? Why is this happening to me?’ Only much later would I realise why I had to go through that friendship ‘stop’. And along the way, this is what I have learnt:

In a world where nothing lasts forever, Jesus remains the same.

Jesus never changes. Jesus never lets go of us. There is no friendship stop or breakup with Jesus. In the midst of change, I could always count on Jesus to be my constant. When I went through a time of questioning who I could trust, and who really loved me for who I was, Jesus was there to steer me through the crashing waves.

Dear reader, do not fear change. Change can be a time when God shapes you and molds you as a person. And in seasons of change, He will always be there to hold your hand as you embark on new adventures.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

Hebrews 13:8

Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Leave a Reply

