May we never lose our wonder
May we never lose our wonder
Wide eyed and mystified
May we be just like a child
Staring at the beauty of our King

-Bethel Music-

Last day of the year. A time to reflect.

I look back at 2016 with wonder. I know I’ve said this previously, but honestly, God has blessed me with so much this year and pulled me through those difficult moments.

I also look back and remember the things that God has taught me in 2016

#1 God is Faithful

Exam stress, relationship stress, friendship stress – He’s pulled me through it all. He’s the reason for my academic success. He’s blessed me with supportive and awesome friends. He’s also brought me to the best cell group at church with wise and loving mentors. He even healed my puppy who got hit by a car!

#2 Lean on God and Not on Men

Tying in with the first lesson, God wants to be there for us! But sometimes we go to our friends, partner or mentor first. Nothing wrong with seeking help from our fellow humans, but all of us aren’t perfect. Sometimes, we disappoint each other. So why not first look to the One who knows us in all our entirety and will never leave us?

I have a friend who once told me: “Don’t rely on God so much.” But we’re all fallible and we all go through some sort of hardships. And here’s a God who loves me and will never fail me. Why should I not surrender to Him? Why should I go through life on my own? He created me, moulded me and gave me life. I am strong, not because I am great, but because I draw on His strength.

Jeremiah 29:13

You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

#3 Guard Your Heart and Give It to Jesus

This is what one of my aunties told me the other day when we were having a heart-to-heart talk. I’ve seen countless numbers of friends crying over broken hearts. I myself have cried over unrequited interest. We all desire to be loved, to be cherished. Sometimes, I ask God: “Is he the one? When will the right guy come along? Why do I have to keep waiting?” It’s SO hard to wait, I know, trust me. I struggle with God all the time about this. But I think God’s just been telling me ‘Your heart isn’t even right with me. How could you love someone else fully for the rest of your life?’ I know that loving God and experiencing His love every day of my life must be my first priority. Because I know that if I have God in my relationship in the future, then it’ll be a relationship that will last.

#4 Stay Humble in Leadership

This was a really important lesson taught to me by another blogger Da Ruey (His Blog). We were talking about how we should set up our school’s Christian Fellowship and I kept insisting that we needed to elect a leader. And then I remember Da Ruey saying something like ‘Why do you want to be the leader?’ Was it so that one could have the title or control the club? That was a real life-changing moment for me. I took some time to inspect my intentions for being a leader – in anything. Did I just want to be in control of everything? Did I just want people to like me and respect me for my position of authority? And I realised that I needed to change my perspective – I should be a leader who looks to serve. To support the people around me and help them grow. This lesson was further sealed by my cell leader who said that the most important thing he learnt from being a leader was how to serve. I really hope to grow into a leader with a humble attitude and a desire to serve others.

#5 Be Rich for a Reason

Okay this might sound really materialistic and weird after all the emotional things that I’ve said above. I’ve always wanted to be rich and live a comfortable life. But one day I had a talk with my mom and she changed my perspective on being rich. She told me that it’s okay to be rich, but for what reason? With my riches, I can help underprivileged children get a good education. With my riches, I can help the poor build up sustainable businesses. With my riches, I can be a blessing to others. There’s more to being rich than living in luxury – be rich for a reason.

#6 Just Be You

In my water baptism testimony, I mentioned how I changed myself to fit in with others. This year, I’ve learnt that I should just be myself, because I am enough just the way I am. I have my own skills and talents. I have my own personality. And I am beautiful in my own way. A few months ago, a dear friend of mine told me: “You are beautiful.” I remember crying after that because it was the first time a guy had ever told me that, sincerely. I struggle with image insecurities all the time but remembering what my friend told me has really helped me to love myself for who I am, and what I look like. It reminds me that I am always beautiful in God’s eyes as well.

#7 Share Your Story

It’s not easy for me to share my experiences. Maybe it’s better through a blog, where I can hide behind a screen. But sharing my water baptism testimony in front of people who knew me, that was a huge leap of faith for me. It’s embarrassing for me to admit that I’ve been rejected twice. But I’ve realised that sharing my stories can help others and inspire others to look to God, to not give up hope. And so as God keeps working in my life, I want to tell the world of His goodness and faithfulness and unfailing love.

Dear reader, 2016 is coming to an end. Take time to reflect. What has God blessed you with? How has he worked in your life? Thank Him. Write it down so you’ll remember. Share your story with others. And if you don’t know God yet, seek Him. Trust me, it’ll be the best decision of your life.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

2 thoughts on “Wonder

Leave a Reply

