Christmas isn’t Christmas till it happens in your heart

Somewhere, deep inside you, is where Christmas really starts

So, give your heart to Jesus, you’ll discover when you do

That it’s Christmas, really Christmas for you.

 -Gary Millar, Steve Macfarlane & Springwood Heath Primary School-

So Christmas this year hasn’t really been ‘festive’ for me. Not all of my family members are home for the holidays. Those of us at home decided not to decorate the house or put up the Christmas tree. No parties, no presents.

It’s just been a week of resting at home and finishing up my homework.

Sometimes, I would hear those songs about being with our loved ones during Christmastime, and then I would start to miss my family and my friends from school. I would scroll through my Instagram feed and open my snaps to see other people at parties or having a good time overseas with their families. You could say that I was feeling a bit green.

But thinking about it now, I’m glad for this quiet time that I can have at home. I’ve been able to get my much needed sleep after the first term of college and catch up on my Korean dramas. I’ve been able to start blogging again (heh). But more importantly, I’ve been able to reflect on the things that I’ve done in 2016 and how I’ve changed. I’ve been able to talk to God about stuff and ask Him for direction.

And so this Christmas season, I’m glad that I can rest quietly because really, Christmas is about Jesus. Spending time with family and friends is wonderful and of course, everyone loves to have fun and receive gifts. But I don’t think there’s been a Christmas where I’ve stopped to really just rest in the One who made this day Christmas. And I felt such a stirring in my heart when just talking to Him today.

Perhaps sometimes we get so caught up in the festivities, that we forget the true meaning of Christmas. So dear reader, I hope that today, we will all take a breather amidst our busy schedule and mingling, and just talk to Jesus on His birthday.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Isn’t Christmas

Leave a Reply

