Faithful You have been and faithful You will be
You pledge yourself to me and it’s why I sing

Your praise will ever be on my lips, ever be on my lips

-Bethel Music-

I recently watched a short except from a WorshipU lesson by Jenn Johnson of Bethel Music. She said: “What’s going to grow you is time alone with God.” And then she went on to say how in the car, or when we’re preparing to sleep, we can just talk to God. And not just talk to Him, but thank Him, for all He’s done in our lives. And whatever the circumstances, there is always something to thank him for.

I feel quite ashamed because sometimes, I don’t remember to talk to God. Like just recently I complained to my mom about how difficult it is to find a topic for this huge essay I have to do, and then she asked me whether I had sought God yet. I had not. I had just relied on my own brains and research to try to solve my problem.

And I guess that’s a problem many people face. Thinking that we are smart enough and capable enough to solve our own problems. Thinking that we have everything we want in this world already. Thinking that we have made it in life. So we ask ourselves: “Why do I need God?”

But honestly, so many things that have happened in my life – they’ve been God’s doing. 2016 has been such a busy year. He helped me battle through my high school exams and pass with flying colours. He granted me with supportive, life-long friends at my new school.  He’s helping me to cope with the stress and workload of pre-U. Emotionally, He’s pulled me through times of heartbreak, disappointments and fear. Faithful He has been in 2016, and faithful He will be in 2017.

Today I woke up thinking about something that has been bothering me. I pondered and sighed, and I felt awful. Then suddenly I told myself: ‘You know what, I just need to talk to God.” And so I began praying and comitting the issue to God. And suddenly this undescribable peace and joy just filled my heart and mind. In all these simple connections with God, even then, He is so good.

And so now, I want to start a lifestyle of praising God rather than letting myself dwell on problems and try to solve them by my own strength. Because I am human, and I am bound to make mistakes and fail. But as it it says in Philippians 4:13, ‘I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.’

So dear reader, I want to encourage you to talk to God. Your life may seem perfect but let me tell you, you can have everything in this world, but if you don’t have Jesus, you have nothing. Don’t wait till something bad happens and then only tell God you need Him. Spend time with Him now. He wants to talk to you. Thank Him for all He has blessed you with. Because He is a good good God. Let go and let God 🙂

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

Your love is devoted like a ring of solid gold
Like a vow that is tested like a covenant of old
Your love is enduring through the winter rain
And beyond the horizon with mercy for today

-Bethel Music-

Leave a Reply

