Do you ever feel like a plastic bag
Drifting through the wind, wanting to start again?
Do you ever feel, feel so paper thin
Like a house of cards, one blow from caving in?

Do you ever feel already buried deep six feet under?
Screams but no one seems to hear a thing
Do you know that there’s still a chance for you
‘Cause there’s a spark in you?

-Katy Perry-

Do you? Do you ever feel like all these things – unwanted, fragile, stuck in a rut? I know I sure have.

The past few birthdays in my life bring back some bad memories.

My 13th birthday (or my 12th, I may have gotten it wrong) was probably one of the worst birthdays ever. I remember in my class, there was a girl who had the same birthday as me. She was much more popular and well-liked than me. So my class greeted her with birthday wishes, but when I walked in, they just ignored me. Suddenly, one boy came up to me with a gift and wished me ‘Happy Birthday’. The others either remained oblivious or expressed surprise that there was another birthday. Although I was extremely grateful to that boy, I felt extremely disappointed that my so-called ‘close friends’ had forgotten my birthday. I ran to the bathroom, crying, feeling so pathetic and lonely.

My 16th birthday happened to fall on my school’s Sports Day. When I first arrived and went to join my sports housemates, they just greeted me like normal. Then someone came with a present in hand. No, it wasn’t for me, it was for another housemate. Only when I went to visit another sports house did some people wish me ‘Happy Birthday’. The worst thing that happened that day was when one of my best friends told me: “I’m too tired right now to wish you happy birthday. I’ll wish you later.”

So why am I bringing up the past? To prove that I should have chosen better friends?

Yesterday, my year celebrated some birthdays. I found out that one of my new classmates had a birthday today, so I quickly included her in the celebrations so she got to be with the birthday people. Later, at night, she texted me about how thankful she was that we had included her in the celebrations, and how good it made her feel.

All of this just reminded me how important little things can be. How special we can make someone feel by just remembering their birthday.

We can be the fuel to light the spark in someone. And you never know that when you light that spark, it can turn into something beautiful – like a firework!

God has set out a purpose for each of us, and each of us have our own unique talents. That’s why we need to encourage one another and help each other to realise that we are wanted, we are needed, and we have a place in this world. And it can all start by remembering someone’s birthday, complimenting someone or offering to help someone.

As for me, the past is the past. I can only hope that I will experience better birthdays in the future. But in the meantime, I’m just going to try my best to remember other people’s birthdays and make them feel special, so that they will never have to feel how I felt.

My prayer for us is that we will strive to encourage each other in our faith and daily lives, and do our best to make everyone feel wanted and loved. 🙂

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

You just gotta ignite the light and let it shine
Just own the night like the 4th of July

‘Cause, baby, you’re a firework
Come on, show ’em what you’re worth
Make ’em go, “Aah, aah, aah”
As you shoot across the sky-y-y

-Katy Perry-

Leave a Reply

