I won’t let these little things
Slip out of my mouth
But if I do
It’s you
Oh it’s you
They add up to
I’m in love with you
And all these little things

-One Direction-

I don’t know about you, but when I first start to like someone, it’s the little things that I notice about him. Like how he just sits back and quietly observes everyone. Like how his whole face lights up when he smiles, and his eyes kind of crinkle. Like how his deep, intense gaze can seemingly penetrate into your soul.

Maybe it’s how love blinds us. But maybe it’s also good in a way – how love makes us see people in a positive light. Like how he’s so patient with kids. Like how he’s so gentle with everyone around him. Like how he is secretly happy when people compliment his baking skills.

And it’s all these little things, these little memories, that make my heart flutter everytime I see him.

And sometimes, I imagine, what if we could see everyone like that? Not in a lovey-dovey way, but with the kind of love that makes us see the little things. Like how they give up their seat on the train for an eldery person. Or how they boldly speak up when they think that you’re doing something wrong or hurtful.

Wouldn’t it be nice if the first thing we thought about people wasn’t ‘Oh, they’re so fat’ or ‘Why must they dye their hair that awful colour?’

Of course, it’s easier said than done. But imagine if we could integrate this into our lifestyle. Then we wouldn’t have so much hate in this world, but instead, people would be able to see the good in each other and build each other up. More people would be able to reach their full potential.

So my prayer for all of us is that we’ll all learn to see the little things in the people around us, so that we can learn to love them, despite their flaws.

I also want to thank God for the little things that he does for me. Like how he helps me to find a parking space in a crowded area during peak hour. Like how he helps me to catch the garbage man in the morning. Like how he makes the weather instantly sunny when I put the clothes out to dry. These little things are a constant remider that He’s always there for me and faithfully watches over me. They remind me of His eternal love.

And to the person I like, I hope that I’ll continue to find out the little things about you. 🙂

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

One thought on “Little Things

Leave a Reply

