My help comes from You
You’re right here, pulling me through
You carry my weakness, my sickness, my brokenness all on Your shoulders
Your shoulders
My help comes from You
You are my rest, my rescue
I don’t have to see to believe that You’re lifting me up on Your shoulders
Your shoulders

-For King & Country-

7 AM

Dad: I don’t know if I should check your results, or not.

Mom: I bet all the parents are going to be messaging me to compare results.

Me: Aya, just chill lah. Just enjoy the day!

11 AM

Mom: Oh no, I cannot access data roaming! How are we going to check the results?

Me: Aya, just borrow someone’s laptop for 3 minutes or ask someone to hotspot us.

1 PM

Mom: Wah, this food is so delicious!

Me: Mom. 1 more hour.

1:59 PM

Me: MOM! 1 MORE MINUTE! Where can we get free wifi???

2 PM

Me: NOOOOO I WANT TO SEE MY RESULTS! THIS IS SO FRUSTRATING!!!

2:05 PM

Ring ring! Phone call from Dad.

Mom: What? So how?

Me: What did he say? What did I get?

Mom: You got all A*! And 100 for Math!

Me: Freaking out and praising God because I felt so grateful and relieved, and talking wayyyy too loudly in the small deli.


Huge shoutout to Smor, a Scandinavian deli at One Raffles place, Singpaore! They have awesome food and you can check them out here: https://www.facebook.com/smor.sg/ Thank you to the owner, Mr. Traveen, for blessing me with his delicious brownies in celebration of my results!


So up till Results Day, I actually hadn’t been quite worried about my results. Although there were some moments of sudden doubt and fear, I thank God for sending me His peace throughout the entire waiting for results period. I was able to sleep without having  any nightmares of failing, and honestly, I think I was just too busy to have time to ponder about what I would get.

After getting my results, I can confidently say that it was God who carried me through.

I was actually kind of struggling during the few weeks before the actual exams. At times, I was very restless, and at other times, incredibly lethargic. I was trying to memorise all the facts and keywords (hello Biology and History) and remember the sample answers from the marking scheme. So I can only say that it was God who helped me remember everything I had studied as I was doing my exam papers.

Even during the exam period of about 1 and a half months, I faced challenges. Mentally, I was like – EXAMS JUST BE OVER ALREADY!!! I was sick and tired of studying, so God was the one that granted me the strength to finish the race well. Also, for a few days, the electricity got cut while I was studying. That meant no light, no fan, no air-con. It was incredibly frustrating. During the day, I sat outside on the porch and read my notes by sunlight. Thank God for a cool breeze too. During the night, I studied by torchlight and a battery-operated lamp. Even with all these obstacles, I thank God for being ever faithful and helping me to concentrate despite the circumstances.

And so now, with God’s help and the support of my family, I have finally overcome my first big exam. I know that there will be more in the future in college and uni, but whatever comes my way, I know that I can put my trust in my awesome God.

I hope that you, dear reader, will also put your trust in God because He can do amazing wonderful things in your life. He’s gonna pull you through. He’s gonna lift you up on His shoulders.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

I look up to the mountains
Does my strength come from the mountains?
No, my strength comes from God
Who made heaven, and earth, and the mountains

-For King & Country-

Leave a Reply

