Your love is a symphony
All around me
Running through me
Your love is a melody
Underneath me
Running to me

Oh, your love is a song

-Switchfoot-

Love. It can build people up, or tear them down. It can be the greatest thing you ever find, or the one thing that crushes your life. But is this really what love is about – or is it just what the world says it is?

1 Corinthians 13:4-8

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails.

Love 2

The love described in these verses is so fascinating because it seems so perfect. It may seem to be the exact opposite of what we have experienced in our own lives – betrayal, cruelty and selfishness. But this description of love is exactly the love that God has given to us, and is continually giving to us. His love never fails.

I would know because I have constantly experienced His love. When I make mistakes, He assures me that He forgives me and still loves me. When I feel rejected and alone, He surrounds me with His presence, and makes me know that He wants me and He loves me. When my heart is so broken and painful, He floods me with His healing and tells me that He loves me.

To me, His love is like a song. Because songs mean so much to me and help me to express my feelings. His love is a beautiful symphony that excites me and fills me with great awe. His love is a soothing melody that carries me in His arms and fills me with His peace. His love is the song of my heart because it is the only love that can truly connect with me and never fail me.

Many people are looking for love. I used to be like that too – immersing myself in fantasies, romance novels and Korean drama plots – looking for a love that could fill my world with rainbows and sparkles and shooting stars. But then I realised that the greatest love of all has always been there for me – the love of God. And once I let that love flood into my life, I could let go of all my desperate fantasies and trust Him to lead me to the right man and the right friends.

There’s nothing wrong with having a dream husband or dream squad or dream life. But when we start to obsess over it and constantly think about it, it takes over our lives and can make us feel insecure and lost. And that is why the love of God is our anchor and our home, our safe place.

So my prayer for all of us is that we will open the door to God’s amazing love and just let it overwhelm us. And filled with this love, I hope that we will be able to love the people all around us, and lead them to the true love that never fails.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

Leave a Reply

