Take me back to You,
The place that I once knew as a little child;
Constantly the eyes of God watched over me.
Oh, I want to be
In the place that I once knew as a little child,
Fall into the bed of faith prepared for me.

I will rest in You,
I will rest in You,
I will rest in You.

– Gardiner Sisters (Original by Jaci Velasquez) –

Reading today’s Our Daily Bread devotion and listening to this song have been so comforting. Just knowing that I can lean on God and let go of all my fears and worries is such a great relief.

Sometimes, we tend to get so caught up in the ‘human race’ as today’s devotion calls it that we forget our Heavenly Father waiting and wanting for us to be with Him. We wear ourselves down to the bones and become so stressed with school, work or endless tasks.

And then there comes a point where we just feel so done with everything. It’s like we’ve pushed our limits way beyond their maximum capacity.

This is where I release. I become a little child and run into my Father’s welcoming arms. He carries me, lays me in a wonderful bed of rest and tucks me in. Then He watches over me as I am filled with His overwhelming peace and renewed by the Spirit.

But we don’t have to reach that point just to run to Him. Because He has always been waiting, and always will be. Anytime and everytime, we can rest in His presence and spend time talking to Him, just being with Him – like our closest friend.

My prayer is that all of us will find that faith of knowing God is always there – waiting for us to go to Him and rest in Him.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

Matthew 11:28

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.”

Leave a Reply

