She don’t see her perfect, she don’t understand she’s worth it

Or that beauty goes deeper than the surface

-Alessia Cara-

I’m sure that everyone has their own insecurities. Whether it be about looks, brains, abilities or something else – I’m sure we can all find common ground in being insecure and feeling like we’re not good enough.

I tend to compare myself to others a lot. Constantly, I wish that I could be as pretty as that girl or as smart as that guy. It’s a never ending cycle of I wish, I wish, I wish.

But then I remember this verse:

Psalm 139:14

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.

Since I am fearfully and wonderfully made, then I do not need to fear that I am not good enough. Although I am not perfect, I need to see my ‘perfect’ – the talents and gifts that God has bestowed upon me. As for my looks, ‘beauty’ is not just about how I look physically, but the state of my heart. A genuinely kind and compassionate person will radiate and stand out of the crowd. I have seen people like that and it still amazes me how beautiful their personality is.

And even as I continue on this journey called life, I know that the Potter is constantly moulding me into a better person – to have a heart for the people, to have a tongue that speaks life, to have eyes that see the needs of people all around me.

It’s not easy to accept myself for who I am and what I can do, but I find rest in knowing that I have already been chosen by Him – I am a child of the King of Kings!

My prayer is that you will also find this acceptance from our Heavenly Father, and not live with the lies of being not good enough.

May the Shalom of the Lord be with you.

There’s a hope that’s waiting for you in the dark

You should know you’re beautiful just the way you are

And you don’t have to change a thing

The world could change it’s heart

No scars to your beautiful, we’re stars and we’re beautiful

-Alessia Cara-

Leave a Reply

